Tea and Sympathy Vol 1 - The Best Of Hairy Claw

Sporadic releases, moments of genius and a non-conformist attitude make ‘Hairy Claw’ what it is today. ‘Tea and Sympathy’ trawls through the Hairy Claw vaults to dig out some of the most requested and effective dance floor deepness.

‘Deep’ is a key word here; Hairy Claw can be seen as a modern day Jacques Cousteau finding new ways to explore deep uncharted territories.

So what have we brought to the Captain’s table? Highlights include Sleazy McQueen’s ‘Naked’ which was given a stunning remix by that man, KiNK. Freestyle Man steps up with his NYC circa 1995 tribute ‘Vibin’ then we head for the heavy Reboot remix of ‘Loosey Goosey’ by Calculus which was also very big for DJ Steve Lawler. Alex Attias also made a fantastic remix for us by the way of Shenoda’s ‘Crash’. Darkfader delivers ‘D-Misst’, a track only previously released on vinyl in 2004 on the now defunct Messila Valley Madness label. King Shakira (aka Yam Who) jumps to it with ‘Shoora Shoora’, a timeless Afrocentric masterpiece. U-Star record favourites, Laj & Quakerman, take us to the ‘Vinyl Frontier’ and back again with this percussion filled teaser.

We also have exclusive unreleased material from SKMK (Stevie Kotey and Matt Kenny) with the wonderfully retro ‘RT Groove’. Dan Drastic’s ‘Xibeca’ is another dance floor gem that comes alive for those hands in the air moments. Finally we end with the track that started it all, ‘Getting Stranger’ by Stevie Kotey, an ode to lush landscapes of Larry Heard.

The beauty of this compilation is that not only does it have tracks that are tried and tested dance floor material, but it also has the warmth that is perfect for home listening. So get the brew on and enjoy this collection from the Hairy Claw.

Release Date:

13 December 2010


01. Written And Produced by Laurin Fedora. Published by Copyright Control.
02. Written and Produced by Klas Henrik Lindblad for Moodmusic Records. Published by Copyright Control.
03. Written & Produced by Gary Goodwin. Additional rework by Frank Heinrich. Published by Copyright Control.
04. Written and Produced by Stevie Kotey. Published by Copyright Control.
05. Written & produced by Laurie Shenoda. Published by Dharma Songs.
06. Written and Produced by H.Freer and M. Reiling. Published by Copyright Control.
07. Written and Produced by Andy Williams. Published by Copyright Control.
08. Written and Produced by Raj Gupta & Ben Applin. Published by Copyright Control.
09. Written and Produced by Stevie Kotey & Matt Kenny. Published by Dharma Songs.
10. Written & Produced by Daniel Faulwasser. Published by Edition Moon Harbour / Freibank.
11. Written and Produced by Stevie Kotey. Published by Copyright Control.
(p) & (c) Hairyclaw 2010

HC018 Tea and Sympathy vol 1


  • Listen 01: Sleazy McQueen - Naked (Kink Mix)
  • Listen 02: Freestyle Man - Vibin (Ingots Breakdown Edit) (previously unreleased)
  • Listen 03: Calculus - Loosey Goosey (Reboot Rework)
  • Listen 04: Darkfader - D-Misst
  • Listen 05: Shenoda - Crash (Alex Attias Remix)
  • Listen 06: Session Victim - Swashbuckler
  • Listen 07: King Shakira - Shoora Shoora
  • Listen 08: Laj & Quakerman - Vinyl Frontier
  • Listen 09: Stevie Kotey & Matt Kenny - RT Groove (previously unreleased)
  • Listen 10: Dan Drastic - Xibeca
  • Listen 11: Stevie 'Fella' Kotey - Getting Stranger (Original)
  • Buy CD Album £

    Buy from iTunes

    Buy from Beatport